Blogs

I didn’t start living until I was sixteen years old

I would like to share my friend’s story. She is a wonderful and beautiful person who has a heart for Jesus! I’ve learned a lot from her. Reilly, I love you!!

 

From a medical standpoint, I was a breathing, functioning, human being. Given a name at birth, and a number to be identified with. But throughout my life, my heart longed for purpose, acceptance, and most of all, the very thing I was created for, love.

I sought out that ‘thing’ called, love. Looked for it in many different fashions, makes and models. Tried drugs and alcohol to be accepted by others. Altered my appearance through pounds of makeup, spending hundreds of dollars on designer clothes, and working out for hours each day to be noticed, maybe chosen, by another. All of which left me bankrupt from love.

Maybe love wasn’t a thing, maybe it was a person? I sought acceptance, love and admiration from realtionships with guys. But how could I give a human being the role only Jesus could fulfill in my life?

Was I thirsty? Absolutely. But God created us with a thirst that only He can quench.

“Whoever drinks the water that I give him will never be thirsty again. But the water that I give him will become in him a spring of water [satisfying his thirst for God] welling up [continually flowing, bubbling within him] to eternal life,” John 4:14.

Throughout my life I grew up in religion; a set of rules, rituals and traditions. But along with religion comes its companion, hypocrisy. Religion is based upon ones performance. But you can’t earn your way through your performance of ‘good works’ to be in a relationship with God. That takes the focus off of Jesus’ work and onto self.

Jesus isn’t a religion, He’s a relationship.

He’d been pursuing me my whole life and finally got my attention when I was sixteen years old. He’d proved His love for me thousands of years ago, but I didn’t know how much He loved me until someone told me so.

His crucifixtion was His purposal to me. What would be my response?

I remember the day I said yes to being in a relationship with Jesus. I had attended a church play that friends of mine invited me to. The preacher spoke about Jesus in an unfamiliar way. His speech wasn’t empty, there was life within his words. He was speaking about how much Jesus loved me and how He’d died for me, so that I could have life in Him. Jesus wanted to fill my heart with the reality of those words. So that I would be satisfied, to the core of my very being.

Now six years later I can say that I am remarkably satisfied, head over heels in love with my Savior, best friend and soulmate, Jesus. I was not living until I gave my life to Him.

Do you want to encounter love Himself? Do you want to enter into a relationship with Jesus? Not sure how?

God says, “If you declare with your mouth, “Jesus is Lord,” and believe in your heart that God raised him from the dead, you will be saved. For it is with your heart that you believe and are justified, and it is with your mouth that you profess your faith and are saved,” Romans 10: 9 and 10

It’s the simplest of things, if you’re not sure what to say, here’s a sample:

Jesus, I want you. I want to be in a relationship with you. I believe that you came to save me. I believe you died for me and that God raised you from the dead. I give my life to you, so I can truly begin living.

 

a-relationship-with-god

2 thoughts on “I didn’t start living until I was sixteen years old”

Leave a Reply

