DIY

Praying In Scripture

i know there is no wrong way to pray which is great. I pray every morning, afternoon and night. I love talking to God. He helps me through a lot. 2 years ago i always wanted to pray in scripture. i thought it would be hard but a friend of mine showed me how. Giving credits to Reilly. Love her.

remembering verse was not my strength. i knew praying in scripture would be tough. until i watched the War Room. i’m pretty sure everybody seen this movie. when the part of the movie showed how young mother clears her closet and she had scriptures, prayers and photos on the wall was pretty darn amazing.

so i put together my simple tools on how to pray in scripture:

  • Journal

any note books, or even a piece of paper can be use for prayer. it doesnt have to be fancy. for example: i have four notebooks from wal-mart or gas stations. i use one to take notes on Sunday for church, another, take notes on books I’ve read, another one, for scriptures that i love and the last two are my prayer journal and prayer answered one.

  • Index cards

my friend told me index cards would help. she learned that from college. she said index cards would help you remember and understand verses. plus they are small and you can carry them around everywhere.

  • Putting Everything Together

Praying in Scripture gives us authority over the devil, as Christ prayed against him.

Two examples:

“I am leaving you with a gift – peace of mind and heart. And the peace I give isn’t like the peace the world gives. So don’t be troubled or afraid” (John 14:27)

Heavenly father, i pray to thank you for the peace that you give. I accept this peace, so my heart will not be troubled with the hurt of this world. thank you. You are a good father to me, In Jesus Name! Amen!

“I command you – be strong and courageous! Do not be afraid or discouraged. For the LORD your God is with you wherever you go” (Joshua 1:9).

Heavenly father, Thank you for being with me every where i go. i will be strong, brave, and encouraged. I will not be afraid or distressed. i will pray, go, and do Your will. thank you. you are a good father to me. In Jesus Name! Amen

 

joel

12 thoughts on “Praying In Scripture”

  1. Hi Lily!
    I love War Room movie. I was also inspired to reestablish my prayer life with corresponding Scriptures. By using God’s Word over our prayer concerns, I can be more confident that whatever the outcome will be, I know that it is being led by Spirit not by my own words or efforts.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

